Cheese Market Edam Agenda

The opening and closing of the cheese market day is done by the ringing of a bell. This sound is generally done by a special domestic of foreign guest, such as famous artists, singers or people parliament, ministers, European commissioners, writers, representatives from the sports and entertainment world and others who in some way made their contribution. A speaker explains in three modern languages what happens on the cheese market.

During 2019 Cheese markets will be held on the following Wednesdays (from 10.30 – 12.30 hrs):

Date Special Guest
Wednesday July 3
Lieke Sievers mayor of Edam-Volendam en mayor Jan van Zanen of Utrecht
Wednesday July 10 Niels Huber of Royal Boon Edam
Wednesday July 17 Marnix Knetermann
Wednesday July 24 Hessel van de Kooi the Dutch Bruce Springsteen
Wednesday July 31 Andrea Peruginni ambassadeur van Italië
Wednesday August 7 Foppe de Haan
Wednesday August 10 evening cheese market Carola Smit with the brass band of Volendam 
Wednesday August 14
Mireille Kaptein, business woman of the year 2019
Wednesday August 22 Cor Bakker
Wednesday August 24 Water day Edam